Hacker News new | ask | show | jobs
by signed0 4672 days ago
Woah! Has Verisign been hacked?

$ whois twitter.com

Whois Server Version 2.0

Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net for detailed information.

TWITTER.COM.GET.ONE.MILLION.DOLLARS.AT.WWW.UNIMUNDI.COM

TWITTER.COM

And then:

$ whois verisign.com

Whois Server Version 2.0

Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net for detailed information.

VERISIGN.COM.MIGHT.SUCK.FYRAE.COM

VERISIGN.COM

I get really crazy responses like this for almost every major site I try (cnn.com, yahoo.com, google.com).

4 comments

no.

VERISIGN.COM.MIGHT.SUCK.FYRAE.COM is a subdomain of FYRAE.com

See this: https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=6204867

I never use CA's so didn't notice this, I only use the twitter app which Moxie Marlinspike and Charlie Miller hardened with pinned certs to avoid all authorities

Also this: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/4415269/suspicious-result...

  whois twitter.com => whois(".*twitter\.com.*")
Facebook's whois result is pretty funny.

   $ whois facebook.com

   Whois Server Version 2.0

   Server Name: FACEBOOK.COM.ZZZZZ.GET.LAID.AT.WWW.SWINGINGCOMMUNITY.COM
   IP Address: 69.41.185.229
   Registrar: TUCOWS DOMAINS INC.
   Whois Server: whois.tucows.com
   Referral URL: http://domainhelp.opensrs.net