Hacker News new | ask | show | jobs
by bsenftner 4958 days ago
Tell us the name of this rogue. I don't want to ever do business with the person, but how to know?
2 comments

Avoid doing side business with anyone claiming to represent Cyanogen, for starters. I'm sure they haven't released his name at the advice of a lawyer (or they just have good legal sense). They shouldn't do anything that would jeopardize their ability to pursue legal action against the hijacker.
It's public via whois.

  Registrant:
   MetServe Enterprises Limited
   Kemp House
   City Road
   London, London EC1V 2NX
   GB
  
   Domain name: CYANOGENMOD.COM
  
  
   Administrative Contact:
      Enterprises, MetServe  info@metserve.com
      Kemp House
      City Road
      London, London EC1V 2NX
      GB
      +44.2081232629
   Technical Contact:
      Enterprises, MetServe  info@metserve.com
      Kemp House
      City Road
      London, London EC1V 2NX
      GB
      +44.2081232629
Doesn't have a person's name though.
Well, this conversation: https://twitter.com/koush/status/268836995890028544 has a guy called Ahmet Deveci who seems to be going at it with Koush about giving back DNS domains.

His profile on twitter says "Entrepreneur, with a passion for website design, development and all things technology. Director of Metserve Enterprises. London, UK ยท http://www.mradeveci.com

That seems like the guy.

Let's try and be certain before we start hurling abuse eh mobs?
That was available through www.metserve.com but the site is offline now. I assume it's related.

Anyway he is having a conversation with the CM team over Twitter.

Conversation... More like public poo flinging. I mean seriously? Use email or something, it's really unprofessional to "talk" these things out over twitter
I think at this point they're just trying to get him to talk anything they can add as evidence on the impending lawsuit about fraud.