Hacker News new | ask | show | jobs
by philp 4958 days ago
Does anybody know how this "rogue" webmaster took undue advantage of the CyanogenMod brand? The Facebook post states something about referral deals with community sites. Any idea what that would mean in practical terms?

Just curious.

2 comments

According to the conversation linked to by CM member koush[1], in one instance he approached a CM distributor requesting a 'contribution':

"Hi, we noticed that you are selling these cards with CyanogenMod builds. We do not however seem to have any agreements in place for this and feel it's only fair that you start contributing to the CyanogenMod project to continue selling your products."

[1] https://twitter.com/koush/status/268836995890028544

Interesting. Thank you.
That does seem fair, doesn't it?
The team claim he was not authorized to make such claims and that the project never received these payments.
Maybe something like "pay me $300 and I'll put a link to your site/product on cyanogenmod.com"?