Hacker News new | ask | show | jobs
by ddrager 4979 days ago
I just purchased it, and it appears to be downloading now. Note that I had pre-applied for a reduced price offer since I had just purchased a new Windows 7 PC. The URL I used was through here: https://www.windowsupgradeoffer.com/en-US/MyOrder

It is currently downloading through a "Windows 8 Upgrade Assistant" program. This program took all of my information and charged my credit card, and is downloading the files as I write this. ETA 15 minutes total.

Screenshot: http://cl.ly/image/2t3T2M261P2a

2 comments

Ah.. yes.... the ever-reliable windows upgrade offer dot com. Why, I think I shall plug my CC into whatever app it downloads.
For those wondering, it really is an official MS-owned website. http://www.whoismind.com/whois/windowsupgradeoffer.com.html It just has a terrible name.
Wait, you can download it? Then why do I get a "coming soon" page?

Mind sharing where you're located? Perhaps MS is pulling a $ENTERTAINMENT_COMPANY and restricting downloads to certain countries.

It looks like you can only get it through the "upgrade offer" page.