Hacker News new | ask | show | jobs
by troyvit 624 days ago
Does Automattic follow wordpress.org's copyright rules? If not then I see the hypocrisy. If so then I don't.

Also it seems wordpress.org kept their resources open to WPEngine until WPEngine sued wordpress.org[1] (not wordpress.com according to the blog post).

So if wordpress.org is getting sued, why would they keep their resources open to the litigant?

[1] https://wordpress.org/news/2024/09/wp-engine-banned/

3 comments

Part of what's so weird about the communication from Matt here is that WordPress.org is not getting sued by anyone—indeed, as far as I can tell WP Engine isn't suing anyone.

All that happened is that WP Engine sent a cease and desist letter to Automattic. WordPress.org misrepresenting the situation is not a good look.

The dispute (on the surface) is about trademark not copyright and Automattic has an exclusive license to the trademark.
I went to WP Engines website and on it they say "Host your WordPress site with the WordPress experts".

It feels confusing to me. The word "the" makes me explicitly think this is Wordpress themselves. They are "the" experts. WP Engine makes it pretty clear they are Wordpress. It is front and center. It has a different meaning than "Host your WordPress site with WordPress experts".

Arg, thanks for clarifying that. I misused that term.
No-one is being sued (yet) and wordpress.org was not targeted in any way. Matt is being dishonest by repeating this lie anywhere and everywhere. Including on the very page you linked.

WPEngine sent a cease and desist letter addressed to, and targetting only, Matt Mullenweg and his for profit company Automattic. WPEngine are explicitly not targeting wordpress.org in the letter. You can read it here: https://wpengine.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/09/Cease-and-De...

Side note: wp.org is indeed mentioned a couple times in the letter but only when referencing Matt's blog post on the site, the trademark rules, and some technical information around the revisions feature. The "demands" part of the letter address Matt and Automattic exclusively.

Matt knows that an attack on dot org would rally everyone to his side, which is why he is repeating this lie over and over. He is trying to use the community as shield.

This is also (IMHO) why he shut off access to dot org. He wants WPEngine to be seen taking some sort of action against the community.

Matt is constantly shifting between "Matt from Automattic" and "Matt from the WP Foundation" wherever it suits him. It's sickening. He needs to be removed from the foundation immediately.

https://x.com/wpengine/status/1839246341660119287