Hacker News new | ask | show | jobs
by jbscpa 5192 days ago
I got one of those text messages in like early February. I ignored it of course and deleted it.

On my most recent phone bill I noticed an increase of about $10.00

Sure enough. By ignoring the text message and deleting it I was signed up of an unwanted $9.99 per month program.

I called ATT.

The ATT rep told me she would cancel the service immediately. She confirmed that by ignoring the text message I had "agreed" to the charges.

I told her that I wanted the $9.99 refunded. She said ATT would ONLY refund the $9.99 if I agreed to put in place a block on ALL future 3rd party charges on the cell phone bill.

I told her I wanted the block on all four of my cell phone lines immediately.

And I got the $9.99 refunded.

Long story short: ATT allows this because they benefit from this extremely anti-customer behavior.

The service I got crammed with was:

	 02/29/2012	 Saynow Alerts	 58497	 MT	 SayNow.com 
For assistance contact: http:/www.mxtelecom.com

If you go to the www.mxtelecom.com it provides NO assistance what-so-ever.

According to the statement at www.saynow.com "SayNow has been acquired by Google, Inc. For media inquiries please contact press@google.com."

3 comments

I've had the same experiences with both Verizon and Sprint. My conclusions about the telcos turning a blind eye are the same. I suspect these spammers leech onto large percentage of new cell phone customers.

I'm very happy to not currently need a cell phone.

Never been hit like a cost like this, but I figured why take the chance? I just called AT&T customer service and enabled "purchase blocker" on my line (which is only for family and emergencies anyway.) Thanks for posting that the block is even an option.
I just got hit with this one too — they called themselves SayNow/mxtelecom.com on the bill, but MobibroIQ in the message itself.

The real culprit appears to be Bullroarer, Inc: http://www.bullroarer.com

mobibro.com lists the email address support@ihelpmobile.com and the phone number 888-890-6150. Googling either of those reveals many other spammy SMS services, one of which is clubmorty.com. Their contact page says they are owned and operated by Bullroarer: http://www.clubmorty.com/vm/pge_contactus.vm