Hacker News new | ask | show | jobs
by ljf 5246 days ago
What if this happens:

I work with a difficult dev/designer for a couple of months trying to bootstap a product. In the end it's not working, we agree to go our own ways, but I keep the name of the product. For what ever reason they get shitty with me, and a month or two down the line when I'm working with someone else they post about me on 'iwasntpaid' - not just once, loads of times - they know a lot about me so they can make it look like a string of unhappy dev/designers are annoyed and I can never be sure who it was posting this.

Would the site owner let me/help me remove these? Will they be asking for proof? If not I can see them getting in some interesting legal battles pretty quickly.

I think something like: http://youthoughtwewouldntnotice.com/blog3/ is great - but it is totally open and honest - you state who you are and why you feel you've been ripped off.

This anonymous sniping isn't going to help anyone. If someone rips you off write a blog post about it, tell people you work with, or better yet talk to the offending party in person.

This feels like bitching-meets-4chan. At least http://www.grouphug.us tries to keep both sides anonymous.

1 comments

FYI: http://youthoughtwewouldntnotice.com/blog3 leads to a giant ad for some Canadian pill site.
Really - no adverts when I visit it?

Edit: Some sort of IE7 hack/virus/attack? (sorry can't reply to your message for some reason)

http://i.imgur.com/r8u2I.png - screenshot is with adblock turned on, but I also tried it with it turned off and didn't get it.

I'm on IE 7 (don't ask), so perhaps the ad is the site's way of telling me "F U"?

Edit: Screenshot - http://i.imgur.com/5lnJ7.jpg

Your computer probably has malware. Run ComboFix and that should fix the issue.

http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/combofix/how-to-use-combofix

I'm on a highly secured military network. While it's not impossible that there's malware on my computer, I think it's more likely that something's up with the website.

Edit: There's no choice of browsers on this network. It's IE 7 or nothing.

May I suggest that you refrain from surfing the Internet using IE7 while on a secured military network.
The "secure" US networks are also just full of malware, because at the end of the day you have a bunch of random enlisted men clicking around in IE 7. I've heard plenty of accounts of the malware on these things.
Any network connected to the general internet (even NIPRnet) is not a highly secured network. Maybe highly regulated but sure as hell not secure.
With FF10 on OSX 10.6 I see the ad too: http://i.imgur.com/FdGJ6.png