Hacker News new | ask | show | jobs
by exikyut 1519 days ago
I found more info on the frequency thing: https://www.clearhealth.coach/clearscan-remote.html

After scrolling, and scrolling, and scrolling some more ("is this literally peddling clairvoyance?") I finally encounter a... DNA test kit at the bottom of the page. Oh. So this is either the internet equivalent of overnight infomercial TV (oversell oversell oversell) or they actually are doing Weird Stuff to the DNA that gets sent in.

Going further and checking out https://www.clearhealth.coach/ClearTUNE.html, the latter does seem to be the case: they've apparently come up with the idea that DNA is "quantum-entangled" and that when you send your DNA swab off to their lab, exposing that DNA swab to frequency (how?) transmits supposed benefits back to you via a "quantum link".

Congratulations, you giant acorns, you've just provided all the raw material to enable some unfortunate numpty with us-vs-them syndrome to come along and "discover" the conspiracy of But What Are All The Other Testing Companies Doing To DNA They Might Be Transmitting Harmful Frequencies Making People Stupid???

Please stay a niche. Please stay a niche. Oh, good, it's $500, hopefully that prevents it from scaling.

*Headdesk*

The unhinged/unbounded nature of the way this has been presented sadly only serves to weaponize the impact of any reactive conspiracy theories: the claims this makes about purported benefits (there's a list just above the price section, which includes such humdingers as "EMF protection", "essential nutrition", "GMO detox", and "injury regeneration", along quite a few more) are entirely vacuous and without substance (understandable and par the course) - but if you flip this sort of non-closed-ended mindset around in a what-if setting, no amount of substantiation and concrete data will fill the sort of false information vacuum (for want of a better way to put it) that gets created.

(On a side note, it's curious how everything in the aforementioned list fits reasonably comfortably into "can be influenced by the placebo effect". The bit about "Covid Care" neatly sidesteps claiming significant effect too. Really gives me the impression this was definitely sniff-tested by a lawyer or two - whoops, there go several bits of plausible deniability out the window...)

Poking around the little web of shell^Winterconnected organizations this setup has cobbled together, I noticed:

- MLM identified at https://www.clearcellular.org/ - down the bottom, "reward yourself": "...a robust rewards program for those who refer their friends and family."

- The little "made in china" stock image at the bottom of https://clearfoundation.co.nz/ is cute

- They really do appear to have registered co.com to get clear.co.com, but despite co.com having an A record the IP times out, nice

- After drowning in the word "decentralized" everywhere on all the cryptocurrency fluff, https://clearfoundation.co.nz/webwallet obtusely notes front-and-center that "This password encrypts your private key. This does not act as a seed to generate your keys." ...k

- While poking around https://www.clear.co.com/clearcenter I was curious about the VM offeri--oh it was shut down. Why is it the 2nd callout?

- Clicking around between different websites I cannot straightforwardly figure out what any of them do. Yes there are PDFs and value propositions and case studies and interconnections but there's so much information it's overwhelming and I cannot see straight. Oh. That's the strategy. Wait where did all my money go??? ...What business overheads? Consulting? Consulting for what? What have I actually gotten out of this?

I was wondering if HPE even realized what they were associating with. I now wouldn't be surprised if they don't realize themselves.

1 comments

> - They really do appear to have registered co.com to get clear.co.com, but despite co.com having an A record the IP times out, nice

They didn't register co.com; someone else did and is running it as a "domain registry". That's a whole scam of its own, if you ask me. https://registry.co.com/

> - While poking around https://www.clear.co.com/clearcenter I was curious about the VM offeri--oh it was shut down. Why is it the 2nd callout?

It only gets weirder the more you look. ClearGlass (next icon over) is some pretty wild cloud technobabble (it's described simultaneously as a "secure and scalable hybrid Blockchain platform" and a "single dashboard to manage multi-cloud infrastructure"), and the ClearShare website (which looks like a rebranded FileCoin, or something similar) links to a PDF describing a battery-powered generator called "ClearPOWER".

A lot of the web sites look like they were made from templates. Some of them even still have Lorem Ipsum text on them.