Hacker News new | ask | show | jobs
by hurricaneSlider 2579 days ago
If you look at legal disclosures on the website (https://seedcamp.io/disclosures), it mentions AH Capital Management LLC. Which is the same company name as Andreessen Horowitz (https://www.bloomberg.com/profile/company/1299044D:US)

Unsure if that is significant, actively misleading, or simply coincidence. I'd lean towards the former given that both are apparently registered with the SEC, though my confidence bounds here are quite wide as I am not sufficiently knowledgeable of the rules behind company names in the US.

A final possibility that I've only just considered is that this disclosure was (poorly) copied from a16z's website.

3 comments

Note to andrewpierno and Donny Mack. I'm not necessarily attacking you for copying legal notices, but it's important to ensure that such notices are accurate and relevant to your company.

For instance there is still the mention of lodging Form ADV Part 2A Brochure with the SEC. If you have not done so, this may be in fact a fraudulent claim and could get you in trouble later on.

Looks like it’s that final possibility. Yikes!
oh like you've never copied terms before lol
I copied their terms and disclosures